Harry Potter and Our Choices

From Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets Professor Dumbledore said, “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities” (J. K. Rowling). When I first read the Harry Potter books I didn’t fully understand some of the things Professor Dumbledore was teaching Harry, like this one. I was probably 8 or 9 years old when I read the second Harry Potter book and I was amazed by the story, characters and of course the magical world. As I got older I started to understand some of teachings I was unsure about. Now at the age of 23 years old I fully agree with Professor Dumbledore saying “it is our choices” is what makes us who we are and shows what’s really in our hearts. Although we make mistakes with some of “our choices”, but we do learn from them so we would make wiser “choices” next time and makes us better people. We all often wonder what it takes to be a good person, but we shouldn’t worry too much. We wouldn’t human beings, if we didn’t think or worry about it. All we can do is our best and just be true to who we are, which will be shown in what we do as individuals and with others.

I have to admit J. K. Rowling’s beloved Harry Potter series really opened my eyes to creativity, the love to read and write, and to embrace life no what matter happens. I still enjoy rereading these books because I can relive my childhood, reenter the world of magic, but also finding something I probably did not find before. These books helped me grow up from childhood, through puberty and slowly into young adulthood. As I read these books now I can see how J. K. Rowling cleverly wrote the books to appeal to all audiences; not just children. As a writer I hope one day I can write a book or series that would capture as many people’s attention, which could possibly help them through life just like J. K. Rowling did with her beloved creation of Harry Potter.

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and Our Choices

Leave a Reply

